Drop Waist Dress

Hello hello,

Happy Monday!  In honor of the start of the work week I’d like to share with you all a brand new make that I love SO MUCH that I’ve already worn it 3 different times since I made it.  Which was less than 7 days ago.  But ah….different cardigan, different outfit amIright?

Image

Dress: Me made,  Lousia Drop-Waist Dress. Necklace: LouLou. Earrings: vintage, my grandmother’s. Shoes: Born.

Image

The pattern is the  Lousia Drop-Waist Dress from BurdaStyles book Sewing Vintage Modern.  I love this pattern and have used it a couple of times now, though each time I’ve taken my own twist on the skirt- I think the ruffles in the original design are horrible. For this version I dispensed with the skirt pattern piece and cut a simple half circle.

Image

I used a navy blue ponte of indeterminate fiber content that I bought in the garment district on my last trip to NYC.  I love ponte- it’s so comfortable to wear.  It has enough stretch that I can just pull it over my head, no closures necessary.  At first I was worried that the dress was a bit too plain and wanted to add something to jazz it up a bit, but on 2nd look I realized it was the perfect as is.  I can dress it up or down, and it’s perfect summertime work attire.

Image

As part of my Me Made May inspired quest to be a better seamstress, I took my time to get the fit right on this one.  The pattern i for wovens and I didn’t compensate for that enough when I started, so the dress was way too big the first timeI tried it on.  But rather than doing a hack job to take it in as I normally would, I took my time and I’m very pleased with the result.

Image

Image

I also added a pocket to one side of the skirt.  My new sewing resolution is to put pockets in everything I can because I ALWAYS regret it when I don’t. Let’s face it- pockets>no pockets, and we all know it.  It may take an extra 15 minutes to put those suckers in, but nothing could be more worth the time.

Image

I’m already working on another variation on this pattern, so stay tuned. Also in upcoming blog posts: fabric I bought in Alaska! So don’t touch that dial ( er unsubscribe button), folks!

Image

(…uhhh outtakes?)

6 thoughts on “Drop Waist Dress

  1. I love your dress! It’s so effortlessly chic, with the dropped waist and the navy blue color. Ponte sure is great – that reminds me that I should use it more often… Great job!

Leave a comment