Lace Crop Top

Lace crop top trend, I am on to you. DSCN3969

Top: me made, Shorts: me made Katy & Laney Tap Shorts, Sunglasses: thrifted, Pin: vintage, Farm: Clark Brother’s Orchards (and I’m a Clark, kiddos. I didn’t rent a farm for the photoshoot ala every urban outfitters catalogue ever.  But then again, don’t tell my uncle or he might start charging me.)

DSCN3962

The pattern is from Named.  It’s the Kanerva Button Back Shirt.

03_025_Kanerva_taso

It’s a pretty easy pattern, and it also has a peplum variation.  I think I’ll be making it again.

My inspiration was this top from Needsupply.com:

1011722_front

of course that looks lovely in white and everything, but who am I kidding?  I am WAY too much of a slob for white, and I’ve been living with that acceptance for the last decade.  No need to fall off the wagon of resistance to white, off white, cream and beige clothing now, even for the white lace crop top trendosaurus. Plus, I had some beautiful maroon lace squirreled away.

DSCN3979

DSCN3967

I know the top is supposed to have a button back, but frankly the buttonholer on my machine is doing all kinds of crazy shit and I’m not sure why.  I decided to use this vintage pin from my grandmother to hold it shut in the meantime so I could wear it to work, and whaddya know, it looked pretty good.  So I decided to just stick with it.  DSCN3977DSCN3980 DSCN3989I did up the insides with french seams, and finished the neckline and armholes with bias tape.  For the button placket, I stitched in a band of plain ol’ cotton in a matching color in place of interfacing, since fusible obviously wouldn’t have worked with the lace.

20140708-093929-34769437.jpg

 

ALSO I tried to revive the glory days of gifs at the end of my posts, but GifBoom seems to have changed their settings such that I can’t copy the code directly anymore to embed it in the post.  Which is truly tragic because the Gif I created is not to be missed.  Anyone have tips on a better app to use for creating gifs than GifBoom? Hit me up in the comments!

8 thoughts on “Lace Crop Top

  1. That top is super – it looks good on you/you look good in it! It also goes really well with the tap shorts. Another winner – but you didn’t need me to tell you that.

  2. It really works well sleeveless and the single fastener, why not with lace. Really nice mods and much prettier than white.

Leave a comment